Belated post–my Illustrator-drawn and hand-drawn maps

I apologize for not getting these up in a timely fashion. I won’t pretend they are worth the wait, but I got cheap all of a sudden and refused to pay UPS or Kinkos to scan my hand-drawn map; in the meantime, I haven’t had time or reason to come to campus in over a week.

At any rate, for my digital map, I spent a little more time fleshing out my Sandborn map, which is a section of Hyattsville, Maryland in 1909. I selected Hyattsville because I used to work there, and also because everybody else was picking relatively interesting locations and I wanted to pick somewhere kind of boring.

Based on my study of this part of town, I got that last part right–Hyattsville in 1909 was a dull place, no saloons or taverns, no public places other than a Masonic Hall, but several churches within a couple of blocks of each other. Granted, this is only one section of the town, but at least some of it seemed to be a commercial stretch abutting the railroad, so if there was going to be any action in town you would think some of it would be there.

I color coded each different type of building; houses are the most common. Also noteworthy is that even in this seemingly well-developed part of tow, there were quite a few vacant lots. I don’t know anything about Hyattsvilles’ history, but if it was a commuter suburb of Washington DC that might explain the undeveloped nature of this neighborhood, and also the lack of any sort of dynamic entertainment district:

Image

I genuinely enjoyed working on this map, as it gave me a chance to get a grip on Illustrator’s layers tool, and also to become somewhat more proficient with the shading functions. I will need to seriously up my game for the final project, though.

For my hand-drawn map, I thought it would be fun to test my own knowledge of one of my favorite areas in the whole world–the Nebraska Sandhills, as well as the Panhandle region to the west and some other surrounding locales. So I put a piece of paper over the map of Nebraska in my Rand McNally atlas, centered it over the Sandhills, and used a ruler to mark the part of the state border which showed, and marked that in pen. Then I put the map away, got out the colored pencils I borrowed from my son, and filled out the map from memory as best I could.

Nebraska hand drawn map0001

Leave a Reply

